Istikharah (seeking Allah’s Counsel)

Istikharah (seeking
Allah’s Counsel)
Jabir bin Abdullah (RA) said:
The Prophet (SAW) used to
teach us to seek Allah's
Counsel in all matters, as he
used to teach us a Surah
from the Qur'an. He would
say: When anyone of you
has an important matter to
decide, let him pray two
Rak'ahs other than the
obligatory prayer, and then
say:
"ﺍﻟﻠَّﻬُﻢَّ ﺇِﻧِّﻲ ﺃَﺳْﺘَﺨِﻴﺮُﻙَ
ﺑِﻌِﻠْﻤَﻚَ، ﻭَﺃَﺳْﺘَﻘْﺪِﺭُﻙَ
ﺑِﻘُﺪْﺭَﺗِﻚَ، ﻭَﺃَﺳْﺄَﻟُﻚَ ﻣِﻦْ
ﻓَﻀْﻠِﻚَ ﺍﻟْﻌَﻈِﻴﻢِ، ﻓَﺈِﻧَّﻚَ
ﺗَﻘْﺪِﺭُ ﻭَﻟَﺎ ﺃَﻗْﺪِﺭُ، ﻭَﺗَﻌْﻠَﻢُ،
ﻭَﻟَﺎ ﺃَﻋْﻠَﻢُ، ﻭَﺃَﻧْﺖَ ﻋَﻠَّﺎﻡُ
ﺍﻟْﻐُﻴُﻮﺏِ، ﺍﻟﻠَّﻬُﻢَّ ﺇِﻥْ ﻛُﻨْﺖَ
ﺗَﻌْﻠَﻢُ ﺃَﻥَّ ﻫَﺬَﺍ ﺍﻟْﺄَﻣْﺮَ- ﺧَﻴْﺮٌ
ﻟِﻲ ﻓِﻲ ﺩِﻳﻨِﻲ ﻭَﻣَﻌَﺎﺷِﻲ
ﻭَﻋَﺎﻗِﺒَﺔِ ﺃَﻣْﺮِﻱ- ﻋَﺎﺟِﻠِﻪِ
ﻭَﺁﺟِﻠِﻪِ- ﻓَﺎﻗْﺪُﺭْﻩُ ﻟِﻲ
ﻭَﻳَﺴِّﺮْﻩُ ﻟِﻲ ﺛُﻢَّ ﺑَﺎﺭِﻙْ ﻟِﻲ
ﻓِﻴﻪِ، ﻭَﺇِﻥْ ﻛُﻨْﺖَ ﺗَﻌْﻠَﻢُ ﺃَﻥَّ
ﻫَﺬَﺍ ﺍﻟْﺄَﻣْﺮَ ﺷَﺮٌّ ﻟِﻲ ﻓِﻲ
ﺩِﻳﻨِﻲ ﻭَﻣَﻌَﺎﺷِﻲ ﻭَﻋَﺎﻗِﺒَﺔِ
ﺃَﻣْﺮِﻱ- ﻋَﺎﺟِﻠِﻪِ ﻭَﺁﺟِﻠِﻪِ-
ﻓَﺎﺻْﺮِﻓْﻪُ ﻋَﻨِّﻲ ﻭَﺍﺻْﺮِﻓْﻨِﻲ
ﻋَﻨْﻪُ ﻭَﺍﻗْﺪُﺭْ ﻟِﻲَ ﺍﻟْﺨَﻴْﺮَ
ﺣَﻴْﺚُ ﻛَﺎﻥَ ﺛُﻢَّ ﺃَﺭْﺿِﻨِﻲ
ﺑِﻪِ."
74. Allaahumma 'innee
'astakheeruka bi'ilmika,
wa 'astaqdiruka
biqudratika, wa
'as'aluka min
fadhlikal-'Adheemi,
fa'innaka taqdiru wa laa
'aqdiru, wa ta'lamu, wa
laa 'a'lamu, wa 'Anta
'Allaamul-Ghuyoobi,
Allaahumma 'in kunta
ta'lamu 'anna
haathal-'amra-[then
mention the thing to be
decided] Khayrun lee
fee deenee wa
ma'aashee wa 'aaqibati
'amree – [or say] 'Aajilihi
wa 'aajilihi – Faqdurhu
lee wa yassirhu lee
thumma baarik lee
feehi, wa 'in kunta
ta'lamu 'anna
haathal-'amra sharrun
lee fee deenee wa
ma'aashee wa 'aaqibati
'amree – [or say] 'Aajilihi
wa 'aajilihi – Fasrifhu
'annee wasrifnee 'anhu
waqdur liyal-khayra
haythu kaana thumma
'ardhinee bihi.
O Allah, I seek the
counsel of Your
Knowledge, and I seek
the help of Your
Omnipotence, and I
beseech You for Your
Magnificent Grace.
Surely, You are Capable
and I am not. You know
and I know not, and
You are the Knower of
the unseen. O Allah, if
You know that this
matter [then mention
the thing to be decided]
is good for me in my
religion and in my life
and for my welfare in
the life to come, – [or
say: in this life and the
afterlife] – then ordain
it for me and make it
easy for me, then bless
me in it. And if You
know that this matter
is bad for me in my
religion and in my life
and for my welfare in
the life to come, – [or
say: in this life and the
afterlife] – then
distance it from me,
and distance me from
it, and ordain for me
what is good wherever
it may be, and help me
to be content with it.
Whoever seeks the
counsel of the Creator
will not regret it and
whoever seeks the
advice of the believers
will feel confident about
his decisions . Allah said
in the Qur'an :
"And consult them in
the affair. Then when
you have taken a
decision , put your trust
in Allah."
Reference: Al-Bukhari 7/162.
and Aal-'Imran 3:159.

twitterforblackberry4.png

Leave a Reply

