Hadith 29. Of 40 nawawi collection by:- sunnahfollowers. net

Hadith # 29
On the authority of Muadh
bin Jabal, who said:
p I said: "O Messenger of
Allah, tell me of an act which
will take me into Paradise
and will keep me away from
Hell fire." He said: "You have
asked me about a major
matter, yet it is easy for him
for whom Allah Almighty
makes it easy. You should
worship Allah, associating
nothing with Him, you should
perform the prayers, you
should pay the zakat, you
should fast in Ramadan, and
you should make the
pilgrimage to the House."
Then he said:" Shall I not
show you the gates of
goodness ? Fasting [which]
is a shield, charity [which]
extigueshes sin as water
extebgueshes fire; and the
praying of a man in the
deapth of night." Then he
recited :
"Who forsake their beds
to cry unto their Lord in
fear and hope, and
spend of that We have
bestowed on them. No
soul knoweth what is
kept hid for them of joy,
as a reward for what
they used to do". (quran,
verse)
Then he said: " Shall I not
tell you of the peak of the
matter, its pillar, and its
topmost part?" I said: "Yes,
O Messenger of Allah." He
said: "The peak of the matter
is Islam; the pillar is prayer;
and its topmost part is
jihad." Then he said: "Shall I
not tell you of the controling
of all that ?" I said:"Yes, O
Messenger of Allah", and he
took hold of his tongue and
said: "Restrain this." I said:
"O Prophet of Allah, will what
we say be held against us ?"
He said: "May your mother be
bereaved of you, Muadh ! Is
there anything that topples
people on their faces – or he
said on their noses into Hell-
fire other than the jests of
their tongues ?"
p related by Al-Tirmithi, who
said it was a fine and true
hadlth.

Leave a Reply

